House John and Eugenie Bost

A PLACE FOR ALL !

You are entering a museum unlike any other. The house of John and Eugenie Bost will tell you stories. Those of John and his wife, who played an essential role. Those of a territory and those who lived there. It illustrates a human adventure, which began at La Force, and which has spread through a number of other sites across France.

Evolving, the immersive pathway has its vocation to educate and promote a change in regard on people in our society with handicap and mental disabililties or challenges : a museum to help understand the differences.


Visit the house John and Eugénie Bost

Prophetic work : the asylums of La Force
The Fondation John BOST. Placing value upon the originality and extent of this « prophetic city » designed by John Bost in the 19th century.

Emergence of the protestants and the origins of the Bost family
Some simple landmarks in Protestant history, explained within the general history of worldwide religions and concepts. Then, discover the personal and professional history of John Bost and Eugenie Meynardie-Ponterie.

John and Eugénie Bost : a life’s work
Creation of the « asylums of La Force » following the construction of the first building “The Family” in 1848, also their development in the 19th century

Other Bost’s in the 20th century
Discover the portraits of the strong and diverse characters of Charles Bost, historian and singer Renaud.

The Fondation John BOST in the 20th and 21st century
Bringing to light the evolution in methods of welcome, accompagnement and care of the residents.

Other look
This space “other look” is dedicated to the artistic creations of the residents over time, characterised by their originality and uniqueness.

Temporary exhibition hall
Various demonstrations which highlight the multidisciplinary approach, open to all. See temporary exhibition

 

Download the presentation brochure “maison John et Eugénie Bost”

 


The team

Curator of the museum :

Ariane Dahan

Scientific Council of the Museum

President : Laurent Gervereau
Members : Laurence Bertrand Dorléac (Professor of art history at Sciences Po, Curator of exhibitions at the Louvre-Lens and Musée d’art moderne de la Ville de Paris) ; Patrick Cabanel (Professor of contemporary history at the University of Toulouse et à l’EPHE, Specialist of Protestantism) ; Gabrielle Cadier (Historian, specialist in particular of Eugénie Bost) ; Anne-Marie Dubois (Director of the Collection Saint-Anne) ; François Hubert (Director of the Musée d’Aquitaine) ; Savine Faupin (Chief curator in charge of art brut at LaM de Villeneuve d’Ascq) ; Dominique Mignon (President of the association Société de l’histoire du protestantisme dans la vallée de la Dordogne) ; Anne Nardin (Former Director of Musée de l’Assistance publique, – Hôpitaux de Paris / Head of the museum’s collection department, Musée CarnavaletHistory of Paris) ; Frédéric Panni (Director of the Familistère de Guise) ; Pascal Rigeade (Director of the Musée de la Création Franche à Bègles) ; Sylvain Riou (in charge of artistic projects and exhibitions  la Ferme du Vinatier) ; Coline Rogé (in charge of projectsla Ferme du Vinatier) ; Marc Rolland (Inspector General of l’Education nationale) ; Nicolas Surlapierre (Director of the Musées de Besançon and de Belfort, Art historian who worked on the collection of art brut of the museum of Villeneuve d’Ascq).

Institutional Members

Christian Feuillette (Chairman of the Board of Directors of the John Bost Foundation), Christian Galtier (Director General of the John Bost Foundation) , Olivier Pigeaud (Honorary Member of the Board of Directors of the John Bost Foundation), Ariane Dahan (Curator of the House John and Eugénie Bost).

Maison John et Eugénie Bost

UN LIEU POUR TOUS !

Vous entrez dans un musée pas comme les autres. La Maison John et Eugénie Bost va vous raconter des histoires. Celle de John et de son épouse Eugénie, au rôle essentiel. Celles d’un territoire et de ceux qui l’habitent. Elle illustre une aventure humaine qui, de La Force, essaime désormais sur de nombreux sites à travers la France.
La Maison John et Eugénie Bost est ainsi la carte d’un territoire. Sa réussite repose sur le lien privilégié avec les résidents, les professionnels et les bénévoles de la Fondation John BOST, ainsi qu’avec tous les visiteurs.

Évolutif, son parcours immersif a pour vocation d’éduquer et de favoriser le changement de regard des personnes et de la société sur le handicap et la maladie mentale : un musée pour comprendre la différence.


Visite de la MAISON JOHN ET EUGENIE BOST

Une œuvre prophétique : les Asiles de Laforce
Mise en valeur de l’originalité et de l’ampleur de cette « cité prophétique » conçue par John Bost au XIXème siècle.

L’émergence du protestantisme et les origines de la famille Bost
Quelques repères simples de l’histoire du protestantisme au sein de l’histoire générale des religions et des conceptions du monde. Puis, découvrez John Bost et Eugénie Meynardie-Ponterie, histoires personnelles et familiales.

John et Eugénie Bost : l’œuvre de leur vie
Création des « Asiles de Laforce » à partir de l’édification du premier bâtiment La Famille en 1848, ainsi que leur développement au cours du XIXème siècle.

Quelques Bost au XXème siècle
Découvrez les portraits de personnages divers et forts de Charles Bost, historien au chanteur Renaud.

La Fondation John BOST aux XXème et XXIème siècles
Le contenu de l’œuvre est abordé ici par une mise en lumière de l’évolution des méthodes d’accueil, d’accompagnement et de soin des résidents.

Un autre regard
Cet espace est consacré aux créations réalisées par les résidents au fil du temps. Ces « regards autres », sont la caractéristique visuelle de ce lieu muséal, sa spécificité et son originalité.

Salle des expositions temporaires
Des expositions variées pour en faire comprendre l’aspect pluridisciplinaire, ouvertes à tous les publics. Voir l’exposition temporaire

 

Téléchargez la plaquette du musée « maison John et Eugénie Bost »


L’ÉQUIPE

Conservatrice de la Maison John et Eugénie Bost :

Ariane Dahan

Conseil scientifique de la maison John et Eugénie Bost

Président : Laurent Gervereau
Membres : Laurence Bertrand Dorléac (professeur d’histoire de l’art à SciencePo, commissaire d’expositions au Louvre-Lens ou au Musée d’art moderne de la Ville de Paris) ; Patrick Cabanel (professeur d’histoire contemporaine à l’université de Toulouse et à l’EPHE, spécialiste du protestantisme) ; Gabrielle Cadier (historienne, spécialiste notamment d’Eugénie Bost) ; Anne-Marie Dubois (directrice de la Collection Saint-Anne) ; François Hubert (Directeur du Musée d’Aquitaine) ; Savine Faupin (conservatrice en chef chargée de l’art brut au LaM de Villeneuve d’Ascq) ; Roger Mayou (Directeur du Musée international de la Croix-Rouge à Genève) ; Dominique Mignon (Présidente de la Société de l’histoire du protestantisme dans la vallée de la Dordogne) ; Anne Nardin (ancienne Directrice du Musée de l’Assistance publique, – Hôpitaux de Paris / Responsable du département des collections, Musée Carnavalet – Histoire de Paris) ; Frédéric Panni (Directeur du Familistère de Guise) ; Pascal Rigeade (Directeur du Musée de la Création Franche à Bègles) ; Sylvain Riou (chargé des projets artistiques et des expositions à la Ferme du Vinatier, service culturel du Centre Hospitalier Le Vinatier) ; Marc Rolland (Inspecteur général de l’Education nationale) ; Nicolas Surlapierre (Directeur des Musées de Besançon et de Belfort, historien d’art ayant travaillé sur la collection d’art brut du musée de Villeneuve d’Ascq).

Membres institutionnels

Christian Feuillette (Président de la Fondation John BOST), Christian Galtier (Directeur général de la Fondation John BOST) , Olivier Pigeaud (Membre honoraire du Conseil d’Administration de la Fondation John BOST), Ariane Dahan (Conservatrice de la Maison John et Eugénie Bost).